eng
      News About gallery Artists Exhibitions Art projects Artifacts Contacts  
 Home > rt projects > A Group Portrait of One  
       

"A Group Portrait of One"

The East Meets West gallery and the Artplay gallery are proud to introduce a project by Tatiana Paleeva entitled "A Group Portrait of One". The title refers to the multifaceted character of its initiator: on the one hand, a gallery owner and collector of modern Moscow artists and sculptors, and on the other a traveler and student of the art, life and culture of the southwest Chinese ethnic minorities. Ms. Paleeva spent many years in mainland China and now resides in Hong Kong, and ethnic themes have been a constant leitmotiv through a series of previous exhibits, under the name "Lost Paths of the Southwestern Chinese Tribes".

She began in Beijing in 1989, a time when little was written about national minorities in China, and particularly about the tribes in the south-west provinces of Guizhou and Guangxi (indeed, Guizhou was closed to foreign visitors). Today, of course, nearly every major museum in Europe contains ethnic Chinese costumes as part of their collection.

The catalogue include antique and modern costumes of the "red" and "black" Miao peoples, with unique embroidery, applique and hand weaving; examples of the wooden architecture of the Dong tribes; religious relics and sculptures of Yao shamans, together with ancestral rolls; silver decorations of the women of the Miao and Bouyei peoples - as well as more than 700 photographs of little-known highland villages and towns in Guizhou and Guangxi, all taken during the last expedition in 2003.

The Moscow portion of "A Group Portrait of One" presents an elite group of six very diverse artists, including five painters and one sculptor:

Azam Atakhanov embodies the Eastern world - enigmatic and contemplative, bright and colorful. His works play with light and shadows in a sun-drenched space.

Lilia Balasanova is the author of a brilliant collage series entitled "Dreams of Confucius", created especially for "Lost Paths of the Southwestern Chinese Tribes".

Dmitry Ikonnikov is a recognized master of textures and surfaces, using blunt tools to express deep meanings.

Sergei Kolevatykh is a versatile artist and a regular participant in East Meets West gallery projects - during which his works appeared for the first time with those of his wife, Lilia Balasanova.

Anatoly Purlik's works are ironic and lyric, managing to be both expressionistic and ascetic at the same time. He is a master of the nude.

Oleg Kievsky is a sculptor for whom art is impossible without the confluence of sculptural and philosophical ideas. His works transform opposing forms into a harmonic whole.

рус
      Новости О галерее Художники Выставки Арт-проекты Артефакты  
 Главная > Арт-проекты > Групповой портрет одного человека  
       

"Групповой портрет одного человека"

Галерея "East Meets West" совместно с галереей "ARTPLAY" представляют проект Татьяны Палеевой "Групповой портрет одного человека": в анфас - галерист и коллекционер работ современных ему московских художников и скульпторов; в профиль - собиратель, путешественник, исследователь племенной культуры, искусства и быта этнических групп (народностей) юго-западного Китая. Автор проекта много лет прожила в Китае, а в настоящее время живет в Гон-Конге, и этническая тема разрабатывается уже в нескольких выставках под названием "Затерянными тропами племен юго-западного Китая".

Все началось в Пекине в 1989 году... и продолжается до сих пор. Тогда о национальных меньшинствах Китая (так их там называют), особенно о племенах, живущих в юго-западных провинциях Гуйчжоу и Гуанси, почти ничего не писали в прессе, а провинция Гуйчжоу была закрыта для въезда иностранцам. Сейчас почти все крупные музеи Европы считают за честь иметь в своих фондах народные костюмы этих самых меньшинств.

Старинные и современные костюмы "красных" и "черных" Мяо, уникальная вышивка, аппликация, ручное ткачество; неповторимая красота деревянной архитектуры народности Дун; культовые реликвии шаманов Яо, свитки с портретами их предков, культовая скульптура; серебряные украшения женщин Мяо и Буей ... и более 700 фотографий, сделанных во время последней экспедиции 2003 года по затерянным высокогорным поселкам и деревням Гуйчжоу и Гуанси.

Московскую часть проекта "Групповой портрет одного человека" представляют пять разных по возрасту, школам и направлениям художников и один скульптор:

Азам Атаханов - это мир Востока, загадочный и созерцателтьный, яркий и многокрасочный; это игра света и тени в залитом солцем пространстве.

Лилия Баласанова - автор серии коллажей "Сны Конфуция", созданных специально для проекта "Затерянными тропами племен юго-западного Китая".

Дмитрий Иконников - признанный мастер фактуры и поверхности, умеющий скупыми средствами выразить глубинное содержание.

Сергей Колеватых - разносторонний художник, постоянный участник многих проектов галереи, впервые выступающий в соавторстве с женой Лилией Баласановой.

Анатолий Пурлик - художник ироничный и лиричный, экспрессивно-декоративный и аскетично-сдержанный, мастер обнаженной натуры.

Олег Киевский - скульптор, глубоко уверенный, что скульптура невозможна без соединения пластической и философской идеи. В его работах противопоставление объемов всегда завершается гармоничной целостностью.